Meeting with Holocaust Survivor Asher Aud

Posted: February 27, 2011 in Standing With Israel

How can I describe in words the reality of a world that I did not experience or live through and for which I have no point of reference?  While I cannot describe this reality, on July 20th, 2010I met with a precious brother who can indeed describe what he experienced first hand surviving through the Holocaust.  Asher Aud, which in Hebrew means survivor, shared his testimony of living in the ghettos and later in several concentration camps as a young Polish Jew.  From where I was sitting I could see the mark of that era tatooed on his arm, a permanent reminder of the concentration camps.

Here is an article about him.

http://www.haaretz.com/jewish-world/news/auschwitz-survivors-reunited-via-the-internet-1.274361

Soon men and women, survivors of the Holocaust like Asher Aud will no longer be with us to share their account.  Therefore it is a real privilege to have met with him and heard his story.  His request and dare I say, his desperate plea with this generation is to speak out about the Holocaust and to keep the memory alive in order to make sure that this never happens again.

I call this a desperate plea because we currently live in a world in which the same ideologies that fuelled the Nazi regime are still prevalent in the Middle East and the rest of the world.  With nuclear bombs in Iran and the Iranian President calling for the destruction of Israel on a daily basis.  The Hamas constitution calls for the destruction of Israel.  Jews and Christians are being persecuted and are fleeing or being killed in Arab countries.

So this plea to make sure a holocaust never happens again is not something that I take lightly.  As a Canadian girl, it is difficult to imagine the realities of the Holocaust, because as I mentioned I have no point of reference.  I have never been separated from my family forcefully, I have never witnessed a death, I have never been publicly humiliated, my identity has never been stripped from me, I have never been beaten, I have never starved, I have never been raped, I have never feared for my life, I have never been forced to perform back breaking tasks etc.  These are the attrocities that more than 6 million people endured.

I am tempted to point fingers, but the reality is that the entire human population is responsible for letting this occur.  Silence is what allows generations to be killed so brutally.   And the truth is that this is STILL HAPPENING around the world, why aren’t we more concerned about this?  Why are Canadians, Americans and all those who enjoy freedom and liberty not making efforts to liberate our brothers and sisters who are suffering?

These words are ringing in my ears:  Tell people about what happened and to not let it happen again!

Leave a Reply

